Skip to Content

ABC21 honored for ‘Best Newscast’ by Society of Professional Journalists in Indiana

SPJ Best Newscast ABC21

INDIANAPOLIS (WPTA21) - ABC21 is a 2020 winner in the category of "Best Newscast" in an annual competition sponsored by Indiana Pro SPJ - the state chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The award was given for an entry featuring the station's coverage of a massive public education rally in Indianapolis.

The newscast was produced by Paula Hinton, anchored by Brien McElhatten and Kaitlyn Kendall and directed by Joseph Noel.

Two "Best in Indiana" first place awards were given in the newscast category, with WTTV in Indianapolis also receiving the honor.

An entry by ABC21 Sports Director Zach Groth and producer Daniel Beals took first place in the category of Sports Reporting, and Beals was a second-place recipient for Features News Videography.


Author Profile Photo


ABC21 WPTA is your source for breaking news and severe weather coverage, plus news, weather and sports from Fort Wayne and surrounding communities.

Skip to content