Skip to Content

ABC21 honored with National Edward R. Murrow Award

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WPTA21) - ABC21 is the recipient of the 2020 National Edward R. Murrow Award for Excellence in Sound.

The announcement was made as part of a virtual awards ceremony that took place Saturday night. Organizers staged the online event in place of the traditional in-person banquet held in New York City.

The national Murrows, sponsored by the Radio Television Digital News Association, are the final stage of competition in the annual contest. Winners in each of 14 regions advance to the national level, with one small market station, one large market station and one network honored in each television category.

The winning entry for Excellence in Sound, "We Interrupt This Program," was produced, photographed and edited by ABC21 anchor Brien McElhatten.

This is the second consecutive year that ABC21 has received a National Edward R. Murrow Award.

The station was a recipient in the category of Investigative Reporting in 2019.

Author Profile Photo


ABC21 WPTA is your source for breaking news and severe weather coverage, plus news, weather and sports from Fort Wayne and surrounding communities.

Skip to content