Skip to Content

Indiana now included on Ohio travel advisory

Ohio adds Indiana to travel advisory

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WPTA21) - Ohio on Wednesday added Indiana to its list of states covered by a travel advisory.

It means those entering Ohio after spending time in the Hoosier State should self-quarantine for 14 days, the state says.

Gov. Mike DeWine said eight states in total are on the list. The others are:  Iowa, Idaho, South Dakota, Kansas, Nevada, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

All of the states currently have a COVID-19 positive test rate of at least 15 percent.

"This advisory is intended for both leisure and business travel, and should be heeded by both Ohioans and out-of-state travelers," the Ohio Department of Health said.

Ohio uses a 7-day rolling average of positivity rates to make its determinations.

The move comes one day after the City of Chicago revised its own travel advisory to include Indiana.

Unlike Chicago, which lays out a system of fines for those who do not self-quarantine, Ohio's travel advisory is not a mandate.

Jonathan Shelley

Jonathan Shelley is the news director at WPTA TV, which he joined in 2016 following nine years in a similar role in New Orleans and previous news management positions in Oklahoma City and Las Vegas.

Skip to content